Champaign Criminal Attorney for Underage Drinking Tickets
Have you or someone you know been arrested for underage drinking or underage drinking and driving? If so, it may be time to contact a lawyer. If it is your first offense for underage drinking, a Champaign DUI attorney or Champaign criminal attorney may be able to help you enter into an agreement with the Prosecutor in which the charges can be dismissed upon completion of certain requirements, for example alcohol education classes. Always remember that your criminal record and whether you have received prior drinking tickets will have an impact on what can be done about your drinking ticket. Below is a summary of the Illinois penalties for underage drinking violations if convicted.
First Underage 21 DUI Conviction
• Loss of full driving privileges for a minimum of 2 years.
• Possible imprisonment for up to 1 year.
• Maximum $2,500 fine.
Second Underage 21 DUI Conviction
• Minimum five-year loss of full driving privileges for a second conviction in a 20-year period.
• Mandatory five days imprisonment or 240 hours community service.
• Possible imprisonment for up to one year.
• Maximum fine of $2,500.
Third Underage 21 DUI Conviction – Class 4 Felony
• Minimum ten-year loss of full driving privileges.
• Mandatory 18-30 month periodic imprisonment.
• Possible imprisonment for seven years.
• Maximum fine of $25,000.
Aggravated DUI-Class 4 Felony (Following a crash resulting in great bodily harm or permanent disfigurements)
• Loss of full driving privileges for a minimum of 1 year.
• Possible imprisonment for up to 12 years.
• Maximum fine of $25,000.
Underage Illegal Transportation of an Alcoholic Beverage
• Maximum fine of $1,000.
• Drivers license suspended for first conviction.
• Drivers license revoked for a second conviction.
• A chemical test indicating a BAC of .08 or greater results in a mandatory six- month drivers license suspension.
• Refusal to submit to a chemical test(s) results in a twelve-month license suspension.
• A chemical test indicating a BAC of .08 or greater results in a mandatory one- year drivers license suspension.
• Refusal to submit to a chemical test(s) results in a three-year license suspension.
Using a Fake Illinois Drivers License or ID Card
The penalties for using false IDs are serious and could change your life forever.
• Obtaining a drivers license through false affidavit is punishable by 1-3 years in prison and a maximum $25,000 fine.
• Allowing another person to use your identification documents to apply for a drivers license or ID card is punishable by 1-3 years in prison and a maximum $25,000 fine.
Zero Tolerance Law for Underage Drinking and Driving
The Zero Tolerance Law provides that minors can have their driving privileges suspended even if they’re not intoxicated at the .08 level. The following table shows the length of time your driving privileges may be suspended under the Zero Tolerance Law (for BAC of .01 or greater) and DUI Laws (for BAC of .08 or greater). The loss of driving privileges is greater if you refuse to take a sobriety test.
What People Say AboutIllinoisAttorney.com responded immediately to my request and connected me with a top notch professional...My investment club received the dreaded "certified letter" from the IRS! I wanted to find an attorney that was focused in the area of IRS...I was in need of an estate planning expert and our family business was in need for a succession strategy. In both cases, Illinoisattorney.com was...I have known Doug for almost 20 years. Doug is one of the smartest and most dedicated attorneys I know. I had a case "against"...Doug Johnson and his staff give 100% for their clients. Any questions are answered fast with results...Shopping for the right attorney can be expensive and time consuming. Illinois Attorney opened an express....